Search Twitter Facebook Digital HFBusiness Magazine Pinterest Google

Get the latest industry scoop


Daily News

From Home Furnishing Business

2018 Scott Morgan Design Scholarship Recipients Named

Aaron Tyler Atwood and Ava Chun have been selected as 2018 recipients of the Scott Morgan Design Scholarship, marking the fourth annual presentation of funds to rising college students.

Atwood, a student at Savannah College of Art and Design, took the first prize of $5,000 with his emotive designs across multiple product categories. His works were admired for their multifunctional capabilities.

Chun, a student at Pratt Institute, received the $3,000 second-place award for her innovative wire chair design series.

Both students were honored in an informal ceremony during the International Contemporary Furniture Fair in New York late last month.

Intended to fuel a passion for home furnishings product design and development embodied in the late Morgan’s nearly 40-year career in contemporary furniture design, the scholarship reflects the longtime support and mentoring he gave to aspiring young furniture designers. The cash prize was created to foster successful careers in art, design and architecture.

The fund was created shortly before Morgan’s death in Sept. 2013 as a vehicle for business colleagues, friends and family to honor his contributions to the home furnishings industry.

Contemporary furnishings manufacturer BDI kicked off donations to the fund.

For information or to make a donation, visit

Comments are closed.
Performance Groups
HFB Designer Weekly
HFBSChell I love HFB
HFB Got News
HFB Designer Weekly