Search Twitter Facebook Digital HFBusiness Magazine Pinterest Google

Get the latest industry scoop


Daily News

From Home Furnishing Business

IDS Announces Winners of Designer of the Year Award

The Interior Design Society (IDS) gathered on August 6 at the Blackstone Hotel in Chicago, IL to honor the winners of the 2022 Designer of the Year competition. Emceed by Jonathan Adler, the event was lively, inspiring, and full of impressive design.

“The Designer of the Year Awards recognizes excellence in residential interior design from throughout North America. It’s a significant honor to be selected as an award recipient” said Jenny Cano, IDS Executive Director. “We are proud to have these designers as IDS Members.”

Also honored was Kimberly Joi McDonald, who received the IDS Fellow Award. The Fellow Award is the highest honor, given only to those who have gone above and beyond to make significant impacts to IDS and the interior design industry.

The winners of the Designer of the Year Awards are:

Space Designs:

Kitchens $100,000 and above: Barbara Owens Kitchens $50,000 - $100,000: Kim Bailey Interiors Kitchens $50,000 and below: Design Vision Studio

Bathrooms $60,000 and above: Kara Bigos Bathrooms $30,000 - $60,000: Fox + Chenko Interiors Bathrooms $30,000 and below: Susan Hill

Living Spaces $60,000 and above: Patricia Kennedy
Living Spaces $30,000 - $60,000: Fox + Chenko Interiors
Living Spaces $30,000 and below: Bekah Hernandez, Rebekah Nicole Interiors

Bedrooms $50,000 and above: Patricia Kennedy Bedrooms $30,000 - $50,000: Lynae Wood
Bedrooms $30,000 and below: Shayla Copas Lifestyle

New Construction: Susan Hill
Whole Home 3,000 sqft and below: Lyndsey Davis Nicklas & Julie Howlett Whole Home 3,000 sqft and above: Susan Hill

Singular Areas:

Laundry, Craft, Closets and Pantries: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors Outdoor Spaces: Kimberly JOI McDonald & Donna Moss Powder Rooms: Kara Bigos
Children’s Rooms: Shayla Copas Lifestyle

Recreation Spaces: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors Dining Rooms: Fox + Chenko Interiors Home Office: Christine Conte
Entry Way/ Foyer: Susan Hill

Specialty Awards

Universal Design: Staci Steidley
Sustainable Design: Kerry McHugh Upton Sherwin-Williams Sponsor Award: Susy McBride Single Design Element: Susan Hill
Holiday Design: Barbara Owens
Student Design Award: Marlena Rhinehart

Business Practices:

Best Social Media Presence: Beyond Interior Design Best Blog: Tanna Edler
Best Website: Beyond Interior Design

Group Impact Award: IDS of Northeast Ohio

Comments are closed.
Performance Groups
HFB Designer Weekly
HFBSChell I love HFB
HFB Got News
HFB Designer Weekly