Search Twitter Facebook Digital HFBusiness Magazine Pinterest Google

Get the latest industry scoop


Daily News

From Home Furnishing Business

CDG Names 13 Finalists for 2019 Design Awards

The Contemporary Design Group, a retail buying, networking and performance group, has announced the 13 finalists for the 2019 Edward Haimsohn Design Awards. Now in its 6th year, the awards recognize manufacturers producing outstanding and original furniture designs.

A panel of anonymous judges, consisting of CDG retailer members, evaluated nominees on originality, creativity, consumer appeal, use of materials, functionality, and manufacturing execution. “This year we received a record number of entries; 56 designs from 41 different manufacturers “says Alicia Mendez-Stevens, CDG executive director. The winner will be announced on Dec. 7th at the CDG Annual Conference in Newport Beach, Calif.

The finalists (listed in alphabetical order by manufacturer) were: Code media cabinet by BDI, Margo storage cabinet by BDI, Graphic sideboard by Ethnicraft, Karl seating by Gamma, Cantina bar cabinet by Glassisimo, Copperfield seating by Himolla, Phoenix seating by Koinor, Virtuose mattress by Literie Laurier, Clessidra table by Midj, Ettore table by Pianca, Esse 72 table by Reflex, Slice seating by Thayer Coggin, and Edge mirror by Trica.  A lookbook of all entries and finalists is available now on the Contemporary Design Group website.

Last year, first place went to Elite Modern for the Swing Bar, designed by Carl Muller. The Swing Bar features a choice of three laser-cut motif screens, a pivoting bar top and a stainless-steel mirror panel.  The pivoting bar top allows for a variety of configurations; including a wraparound bar workstation, a peninsula, a double sized bar, or closed to save space when not in use.

Past winners include; Rondo seating by Lucy Kurrein for Molinari Design, Beam Lamp by Francois Caron for Trica Furniture, Caruso Audio Cabinet by Paolo Capello for Miniforms, and Corridor Media Cabinet by Matthew Weatherly for BDI.  The award is named after CDG's co-founder, Edward Haimsohn, who was well known for his strong eye for design and attention to quality. The members of CDG continue in the spirit of constructive collaboration, teamwork, and partnership between retailers and manufacturers in the contemporary home furnishings category.

b i u quote

Enter the code shown above in the box below.
Save Comment

Showing 0 Comment

Got News
Performance Groups
Impact Report Store