Search Twitter Facebook Digital HFBusiness Magazine Pinterest Google

Get the latest industry scoop


Daily News

From Home Furnishing Business

Molinari Design Collection Snags Haimsohn Design Award

The Rondo Seating Collection, which was designed by Lucy Kurrein for Molinari Design, captured the Contemporary Design Group’s Edward Haimsohn Design Award for 2017.

The collection features a sofa and chair that were inspired by punching bags. The simple legs press into the leather on the sides, showing the softness of the cushions and inviting the user to wrap his or her arms around it like a boxer would if it were a punching bag, the designer said.

First runner-up went to the Unity dining table, designed by Sean Breen and Shawn Straffin for Lyndon Furniture.  Second runner-up was the Apelle chaise lounge chair by Beatriz Sempere for Midj. And third runner-up was awarded to Mellow Seating by Stefan Heiliger for Koiner Planum Furniture.

The Edward Haimsohn Design award recognizes manufacturers producing outstanding and original furniture designs. The award is named after CDG's co-founder, Edward Haimsohn, who was well known for his strong eye for design and attention to quality.

A panel of judges, consisting of CDG retailer members, evaluated nominees on originality, creativity, consumer appeal, use of materials, functionality, and manufacturing execution. The winner was announced at CDG’s recent Annual Conference in San Diego.

Comments are closed.
Performance Groups
HFB Designer Weekly