Search Twitter Facebook Digital HFBusiness Magazine Pinterest Google

Get the latest industry scoop


Daily News

From Home Furnishing Business

Caperton Elected AHFA’s 2019 Chairman

The American Home Furnishings Alliance has announced that Gat Caperton, CEO of Gat Creek Furniture of Berkeley Springs, W.V., was elected 2019 Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Caperton acquired Gat Creek, originally named Tom Seely Furniture, from its founder in 1996. The 50-year-old company now employs over 150 artisans and sells its solid wood furnishings via 200-plus independent retail stores throughout the United States. Caperton has served on the AHFA Board of Directors since 2013.

Jeb Bassett, senior vice president of Bassett Furniture’s wood division, Bassett, Virginia, was elected first vice chairman of the AHFA Board, and Jeff Cook, CEO of A.R.T. Furniture, High Point, was elected second vice chairman. AHFA’s 2018 chairman, Bill Wittenberg, CEO of Klaussner Furniture, Asheboro, N.C., moves to immediate past-chairman for 2019. All new officers assume their posts on Jan. 1.

Executives newly elected to three-year terms on the AHFA Board of Directors include: Edward Audi, Stickley; David Beckmann, Emerald Home Furnishings; Roy Calcagne, Craftmaster; Nathan Cressman, Magnussen Home Furnishings; Kurt Darrow, La-Z-Boy Inc.; Luke Simpson, Durham Furniture; Henry Vanderminden IV, Telescope Casual Furniture; and Ron Wanek, Ashley Furniture Inds.

Continuing on the board with terms expiring at the end of 2020 are Doug Bassett, Vaughan-Bassett Furniture; Bruce Birnbach, American Leather; Michael Delgatti, Hooker Furniture; Todd Evans, Standard Furniture; Joe Johnston, Johnston Casuals; Steve Lehman, Smith Brothers of Berne; and Jeff Scheffer, Universal Furniture.

Continuing on the board with terms expiring year end 2019 are Doug Collier, La-Z-Boy Inc.; Eric Graham, Jonathan Charles; Fred Henjes, Riverside Furniture; Allan Palecek, Palecek; Alex Shuford III, Century Furniture; and Todd Wanek, Ashley Furniture Inds. Barrett Plasman, Scott Insurance, and Heather Corrigan, Lectra, are supplier representatives on the board from AHFA’s Solution Partners division.

Comments are closed.
Performance Groups
HFB Designer Weekly
HFBSChell I love HFB
HFB Got News
HFB Designer Weekly