Search Twitter Facebook Digital HFBusiness Magazine Pinterest Google

Get the latest industry scoop


Daily News

From Home Furnishing Business

IHFRA to Honor Spilman, El Dorado and Parks in April

The International Home Furnishings Representatives Association will host its 21st annual Furniture Industry Awards Gala in April and will honor Rob Spilman, El Dorado Furniture and Kathy Parks.

Spilman of Bassett Furniture will receive the Pillar of the Industry Award; the Capo Family of El Dorado Furniture  will receive the Retailer of the Year Award; and IHFRA’s executive director Kathy Parks, will receive the Distinguished Service Award. 

Two new categories of awards for sales representatives will be added to the 2016 Furniture Industry Awards Gala. These new awards will be presented to Rising Star and Legacy sales representatives. Retailers and manufacturers will be asked to cast ballots in the coming months for these two categories by region (East coast, West coast, and Middle America).  

Spilman was named president and CEO of Bassett Furniture in 2000 after working in all aspects of the business. He has been responsible for Bassett’s sustained growth through his leadership and vision.

The Pillar of the Industry Award is presented to an industry leader who has distinguished himself with creative work and effort to improve, enhance, and benefit relationships among representatives and other segments of the industry.  This person’s actions and deeds have shown their commitment to the home furnishings industry, their community, and to mankind.



The Capo Family will be presented the Retailer of the Year Award. Manuel Capo and his sons opened their first store in 1967 in Miami’s Little Havana, naming the store El Dorado after the sailboat they used to escape Cuba. El Dorado has expanded brand operations across Florida and is ranked among the top 50 furniture retailers in the country and is the largest Hispanic furniture retailer in the United States.  The Retailer of the Year is the highest honor given within the retail home furnishings community. It recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves through industry leadership, business achievement, and service to their community. 


Parks has served as executive director of the International Home Furnishings Representatives Association since 2005.   Prior to taking the position, Parks was formerly director of international services for the International Home Furnishings Center for eight years. The Harold P. Braun Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was founded in 1975 as IHFRA’s highest honor bestowed to a member of the organization. The DSA has been given annually for the past forty years to a deserving representative. The recipient of the DSA is a sales representative who embodies certain qualities and character, and has distinguished him or herself on behalf of IHFRA to sales representatives and the industry. The recipient has also enhanced, by deed and action, the image of home furnishings sales representatives in the community and the industry.

The gala will take place during the April High Point Market at Grandover Resort and Conference Center.


b i u quote

Enter the code shown above in the box below.
Save Comment

Showing 0 Comment

HFB Got News
HFB Designer Weekly
HFB Designer Weekly
HFB Pinterest
HFBusiness Got News