Search Twitter Facebook Digital HFBusiness Magazine Pinterest Google
Holiday Wishes : HFB

Get the latest industry scoop


Daily News

From Home Furnishing Business

Furniture 1st Names New Board Members

Furniture First buying group has named two people to its board of directors to succeed two outgoing members.

Larry Mark of Furniture Warehouse Design Gallery in Beaufort, S.C., and Tom Schwaab of Howell Furniture in Beaumont, Texas, were elected as the newest members of the board. Each will serve a two-year term. 

Retiring Board members were Ken Paul of FrontRoom Furnishings in Columbus, Ohio, and Richard Talsma of Talsma Furniture in Hudsonville, Mich. Both were presented with plaques recognizing their contributions to the group. Retiring chairman Mike Kordik was also presented with a plaque in appreciation of his service.

The following slate of nominees were reinstated as members of the board, and will serve a two-year term:  Nick Cardi of Cardi’s Furniture, Swansea, Mass.; Chris Cooley of Michael Alan Furnishings, Lake Havasu City, Ariz.; Art Scholet of Scholet Furniture, Oneonta, N.Y.

Current board members with one-year terms remaining include Russell Blocker of Blocker’s Furniture, Ocala, Fla.; Randy Coconis of Coconis Furniture, South Zanesville, Ohio; Ron Deets of Deets HomeStore, Norfolk, Neb.; Mike Kordik of Mike’s Furniture in Joliet, Ill.; Eric Sinclair of Mongomery’s Furniture, Sioux Falls, S.D. and Steve Kloss of The Tin Shed, Highland, Ill.

Officers were appointed by the board following the vote. The new chairman is Art Scholet and the new vice chairman is Nick Cardi. Chris Cooley will continue in her role as secretary and Steve Kloss is the new treasurer.

During the buying group’s general membership Meeting, Ultra Comfort presented Furniture First with an award recognizing five years of quality partnership. More than 60 percent of Furniture First retailers carry the lift chair line.  

Comments are closed.
HFB Designer Weekly
HFB Designer Weekly
HFB Pinterest